EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums

Has anyone seen this GCC compiler behavior before?

Started by mjbcswitzerland 4 years ago9 replieslatest reply 4 years ago180 views

HI All

I had an interesting experience when using some ARM Cortex initialisation code that I have been using for over 10 years. I used it in an i.MX RT development and with IAR (full optimisation for size) it worked as normal, but when I built with GCC
gcc version 8.3.1 20190703 (release) [gcc-8-branch revision 273027] (GNU Tools for Arm Embedded Processors 8-2019-q3-update)
it failed in a rather spectacular way - which I have never experienced before.

First of all, this is the original code.

VECTOR_TABLE_OFFSET_REG = (unsigned long)RAM_START_ADDRESS;  // position the vector table at the bottom of instruction RAM
    ptrVect = (VECTOR_TABLE *)VECTOR_TABLE_OFFSET_REG;
    ptrVect->ptrNMI           = irq_NMI;
    ptrVect->ptrHardFault     = irq_hard_fault;
    ptrVect->ptrMemManagement = irq_memory_man;
    ptrVect->ptrBusFault      = irq_bus_fault;
    ptrVect->ptrUsageFault    = irq_usage_fault;
    ptrVect->ptrDebugMonitor  = irq_debug_monitor;
    ptrVect->ptrSysTick       = irq_default;
    fnSubroutineCall(); // any subroutine as reference

The code sets the vector table offset register and fills out a few default interrupt handlers, whereby I follow the code with some random call for illustration purposes. The interrupt vectors are located at the start of SRAM, which tends to be at 0x20000000, or in that area in a lot of cases for Cortex processors.

The failure I had when building for an i.MX RT processor with GCC was that all of this code was completely optimised away, including the subroutine call. However it DIDN'T do this if I located the vectors in data RAM (tightly coupled, optimised for data access) but it DID when I located them in instruction RAM (tightly coupled, optimised for instructions).