EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums

To Cast, or Not to Cast

Started by MaxMaxfield 4 years ago16 replieslatest reply 4 years ago128 views

Hi there -- sorry to bug you with a newbie question, but I'm a hardware design engineer, so software sometimes leaves me a bit confused.

Can you take a quick glance at the following example functions and tell me if the casts (highlighted in yellow) are (a) correctly done and (b) necessary, or would the compiler do them anyway?

Similarly, are the parentheses (highlighted in green) necessary? Even if they aren't necessary, are they still a good idea for ensuring things happen as I want them to happen?

www.clivemaxfield.com/area51/do-not-delete/casting...

Thanks as always for your sage advice :-)

[ - ]
Reply by MatthewEshlemanJune 26, 2020

Is this C or C++ (I'm assuming C)?

Is this a 16bit or 32bit platform? (i.e. what is the size of the int)

So, for example, if I try to compile that code for gcc MSP430, I get an error:

https://godbolt.org/z/TY2y9x

But, if you change the compiler to a 32bit platform, then it compiles fine. Check out my link above and play with it. If you haven't seen godbolt.org before, it is really an amazing utility to help with answering questions like this AND compiling the code across various compilers and targets.

Also note the compiler options I selected: "-O2 -Wall -Werror -Wextra".  This turns on many warnings that the gcc compiler may find, and furthermore turns those warnings into compile errors. Very much recommended.

FWIW: Casting is generally considered a sign of a design issue and should be considered a code smell. However, in our embedded world it is frequently needed. Therefore that general best practice advice is less applicable.

Also, the question at its core is regarding integer promotion rules in the C language: see here for some nap time reading: