EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums

PID Video

Started by Tim Wescott 8 years ago9 replieslatest reply 8 years ago248 views

Just got done posting this.  As a video it's rough as a cob -- but then, I'm a beginner.  I think the information content is right, and now that I've posted it I see about a dozen things that I can do to make the next one better.

What is PID Control?

[ - ]
Reply by pipifaxMay 10, 2016

Ok, there was nothing I did not know before, but the intro and demonstration were both impressive.

Good job.

Klaus

[ - ]
Reply by Tim WescottMay 10, 2016

I had started with the goal of doing a short "PID Without a PhD" talk, and this was the introductory half.  So yes -- it's pretty basic.  But I suspect there's folks out there who need something at that level, and it let me avoid any math for this one.

It edited out to a hair under 15 minutes, I posted it, and then I found out that YouTube has a 15 minute time limit for new posters.  So that was serendipitous.

[ - ]
Reply by s-lightMay 10, 2016

Thanks for this nice and clean explanation!

i heard about PID before but with your demonstration i really started to understand the concept :-)

for me the next step is to build up something similar and have a 'hands on' experience ;-)

Thanks for the inspiration!

sunny greetings

stefan

[ - ]

Stefan:

You're welcome.  A much less expensive, but less impressive, way to get a training mechanism is to buy a large, cheap, RC servo.  Take it apart, throw away the control board, and build your own.

[ - ]
Reply by s-lightMay 10, 2016

hm you are right servo is also a good idea! - i love the idea of a TWI controlled Servo - there is one project that just does that - replace the original servo electronics with a custom controller (http://www.openservo.com/)...

'less impressive' --> i think i will try the impressive one ;-)

[ - ]
Reply by fabateraMay 10, 2016