EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums

ADC Read Sequencing for Motor Control

Started by waydan 6 years ago7 replieslatest reply 6 years ago173 views

I am studying embedded control by working on a BLDC motor control with the NXP FRDM-KV11Z development board (Kinetis microcontroller). I’ve read enough articles and application notes to know I should synchronize current measurement with the center of the PWM pulses. However, I’m considering the finer points of aligning the ADC and PWM.

Since the sample-and-hold capacitance needs a few ADC clock cycles to charge, I am concerned that I won’t truly be measuring during the middle of a pulse if I wait till the PWM center to trigger the ADC read.

Example:

• 10 kHz PWM frequency
  • 24 MHz ADC clock
  • ADC sample time = 10 ADC clock cycles

If a conversion is triggered at the center of a pulse, the capacitance is disconnected from the signal 10 / 24 MHz = 417nS after the pulse center.

I would appreciate feedback for the following questions (and any additional advice folks are willing to share).

1. Am I correct in thinking that my sample will have a delay?
  2. When should I be concerned about this delay (e.g. when the motor has a low time constant)?
  3. Is it recommended to use a delay timer to preemptively start the ADC read so the end of the sample time and beginning of the conversion line up with the center of the PWM?

Thank you!

[ - ]
Reply by jms_nhJune 1, 2018
1. Yes

2. When your current sense signal has high enough frequency content that a 417ns delay would adversely affect the quality of the samples (hint: di/dt has something to do with it)

3. You could do this, yes.

(just curious, is this a work or personal project?)

[ - ]
Reply by waydanJune 1, 2018

This is a personal project. I’m interested in motor control modules for drones and thought building one would be an interesting way to study electronics and microcontrollers. 

[ - ]