EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
Memfault State of IoT Report

Using IR Photodiode as a sensor

Started by amitbe 6 years ago26 replieslatest reply 6 years ago544 views
Hi
I am a student working on a project with MSP-EXP430F5438 LaunchPad and I'm trying to use IR photodiode to open a gate in a model of a parking lot. In order to check my circuit I wrote a simple code just to check if the photodiode connection is working. Code purpose is to turn on the launchpad's LED.
This is my code:

void main (void)
{

// Port1 - IR detectors (located in RF3 )
P1DIR = 0x03; // configure pin P1.0 & P1.1 for led output
P1OUT = 0x00; // clear the output of P1
P1SEL = 0x00; // set all port1 pins as I/O

//Port5
P5DIR = 0x00; // P5.0 IR input
P5SEL = 0x00; // set all P5 pins as I/O
P5OUT = 0x00;

while(1){
if(P5IN & 0x01)
P1OUT = 0x03;
else
P1OUT = 0x00;
}

}

also, I am using 10Kohm resistor before the port input as a pullup resistor
Nothing happens in the LEDs of the MSP and also when I debug the program I don't see the input changing

I've checked my circuit bu connecting a simple LED instead of the port and I see it toggles when I block the IR LED <-> IR PhotoDiode lien of sight

any ideas what I'm doing worng?

Thank you
[ - ]
Reply by SpiderKennyJanuary 8, 2018

** SEE MY OTHER REPLY, I THINK THAT WILL FIX IT **

I've used the MSP430 a little bit in the past, but not much.

I have always put the PxSEL configuration before any PxDIR - but I'm not sure if that will have any effect, but it selects the GPIO functionality, before setting any GPIO bits.

Also, I'd be tempted to change P5OUT = 0x00; to P5OUT = 0x01; in order to ensure the input isn't being driven low internally (again, not sure if this will be an issue, but it's normally good practice to drive all input pins high when possible).

[ - ]
Reply by SpiderKennyJanuary 8, 2018