EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums

How does an embedded system OS work? LPC3250 ARM9

Started by kamaln 5 years ago6 replieslatest reply 5 years ago171 views

Hi,

I am new to the embedded system world and can't figure out how some devices are bare metal (no OS) and some have an operating system. I understand that a bare metal system is made from scratch but devices running on an operating system use the OS prebuilt code as functions in their projects. 

I am currently working on a bare metal  LPC3250 ARM9 project on Keil v4. My current goal is to create a secure SMTP function. I am trying to import mbedTLS but it requires an OS to run or I would have to create my own functions for networking and entropy.

My questions are:

1. How do embedded systems get the operating systems?

2. What happens when you download the code to your device, do only the project required parts used from the OS go to the board?

3. How can I use an OS with my bare metal project?

4. Lets say I wanted to use only some functions, like the networking and entropy functions, from the Windows API, can I find the source code from the windows OS and import it to my project?

5. If an OS is just C code, can I just import that code into my C embedded project?

Thanks.

[ - ]
Reply by mr_banditMay 11, 2019

A bare metal app is basically an init followed by a loop. The OS version supplies the ability to have several processes running at "the same time". (in reality, the processes should actually cooperate with each other, or at least not stomp on its peers.) (And I am going to assume an RTOS, although Linux or a light-weight non-RTOS will work for many applications).

The basic choice of command loop vs RTOS come down to how much stuff you need to do, timing constraints, and how independent your tasks are.

My questions are:

1. How do embedded systems get the operating systems?

Magic fairies.