EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
Memfault Beyond the Launch

uart0 is not working

Started by appujohn 7 years ago9 replieslatest reply 7 years ago185 views
Dear all,
I am new to LPC2378 (#LPC2300). Currently i am developing code for sending a character in serial port....Below i mentioned the code what i have written..but this is not working...i am using keil uvision3...Can anybody help me in this code????In my hardware DB 9 connectors rxd and txd are connected together(loopback test)

This is my code...
#include <LPC23xx.H>
#include <stdio.h>
void delay(int);
int main (void)
{

PCONP |= (1<<3) /* power for uart 0 */
PINSEL0 |= 0x00000050; /* Enable TxD0 *//* Enable RxD0 */
U0LCR = 0x83; /* 8 bits, no Parity, 1 Stop bit */
U0DLM = 0x00;
U0DLL = 0x78; /* 9600 Baud Rate @ 12MHz Clock */
U0FDR = 0xA3;
U0LCR = 0x03; /* DLAB = 0 */
U0FCR = 0x81;

while(1)
{
U0THR = 'A';
while (!(U0LSR & 0x40));
}
[ - ]
Reply by maruthi.hrFebruary 20, 2017

Hi Appujohn,

You need to find answers to following questions to know if your program is right or wrong.

What is the crystal frequency in your system?

What is the CCLK value in your system? You need to look at you PLL Config values to check this. 

What is the PCLK_UART0 value?

In LPC 2378, the crystal frequency, is fed into a PLL. Based on your PLL configuration, a processor clock is generated. This clock is then divided to get UART0 clock. Using UART0 clock, U0DLL and U0DLM value are calculated.

Note: You will be doing your calculations for U0DLL and U0DLM in decimal numbers. You can write them directly to registers without "0x" like I am showing below. If you want to write them in hexadecimal format (with 0x), you need to convert your computed values to hexa decimal.  

U0DLL = <your decimal value>;        
[ - ]
Reply by appujohnFebruary 20, 2017

Hello maruthi,    

XTAL=12MHZ

PLL=288MHZ;

PROCESSOR CLOCK=48MZ;

PHERPHERAL CLOCK=12MHZ.

U0DLL=78;

[ - ]
Reply by stephanebFebruary 20, 2017