EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
The 2024 Embedded Online Conference

CHECKING WHETHER RS 485 IS WORKING

Started by appujohn 7 years ago8 replieslatest reply 7 years ago679 views
Inorder  to check my rs 485 port,i had connected my lpc2378 (rs485) with my PC through ADAM-4561(1 port isolated USB to RS 232/422 485converter).Now how to check it and where to check it?????.i am very new to microprocessor development and am still figuring out the way things work on the LPC2378 . So up front apologies for "stupid" questions.i had done the programing.First time iam doing code with rs 485.

#include <LPC23xx.H>

#include <stdio.h>
int main (void)
{

PCONP |= (1<<3)                       /* power for uart 0 */
PINSEL0 |= 0x00000050;                /* Enable TxD0 *//* Enable RxD0 */
U0LCR = 0x83;                         /* 8 bits, no Parity, 1 Stop bit */
U0DLM = 0x00;
U0DLL = 0x78;                           /* 9600 Baud Rate @ 12MHz Clock */
U0FDR = 0xA3;
U0LCR = 0x03;                          /* DLAB = 0 */
U0FCR = 0x81;

while(1)
{
      FIO2SET|=(1<<2);               /*TRANSMIT MODE*/
      U0THR = 'A';
      while (!(U0LSR & 0x40));
      FIO2CLR|=(1<<2);
     while (!(U0LSR & 0x01));
      data1 =U0RBR;
}

Is my code correct,if not please help me with changes. how to know whether my code is working using hyperterminal .please provide valuable suggestions.
[ - ]
Reply by stephanebFebruary 22, 2017

May I ask why you posted the same question twice today in this forum?

[ - ]
Reply by appujohnFebruary 22, 2017

Please find the changes that I had from the previous question.In order to make my question more clear I posted it twice.

[ - ]
Reply by BEBSynthesizersFebruary 22, 2017
RS485 is half duplex in your case (you have connected /RE and DE). So you either transmit or receive, but you can't try to echo yourself to check if it works.

The only way to test the code is to have another RS485 test device on the other side sending data.