EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
The 2024 Embedded Online Conference

Microcontroller books suggestions

Started by fabianpi 7 years ago7 replieslatest reply 7 years ago514 views

Hello people,

I'm new in the EmbeddedRelated.com and I want to ask you guys what books or resource you kindly suggest me to develop my skills in Microcontroller programming.

I've been working with PIC and AVR but I would like to know if you have some sort of resource that I could read because I really like embedded systems and I would like to master in these world.

if the material is about PIC and AVR, or anything else could work, what I really want are your suggestions.

Looking for a sooner reply. Thanks.

[ - ]
Reply by jorickSeptember 14, 2017

I suggest you start with "Embedded C Coding Standard" by Michael Barr.  It's available in HTML or PDF for free here: https://barrgroup.com/Embedded-Systems/Books/Embed...

It's important to get used to a coding standard in order to improve the readability of your code and reduce bugs.

[ - ]
Reply by Tim WescottSeptember 14, 2017
The Art of Embedded Programming by Jack Gannsle.

It sounds like you don't need a microprocessor book per se.  There ARE books, and, in fact, entire college classes, around how a microprocessor works.  It's hard to be sure from your post, but may want to treat the microcontroller as a black box for now, though, and concentrate on the programming aspects.

[ - ]
Reply by QLSeptember 14, 2017

I would recommend the "Modern Embedded Systems Programming" video course on YouTube.

The course is intended for newcomers to the embedded software field and is structured as a series of short, focused, hands-on lessons that teach you how to program embedded microcontrollers in the C programming language. But the goal is not just to teach you C—other courses and books do it already quite well. But there are virtually no courses that would step down to the machine level and show you exactly what happens inside the embedded processor.