EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
Memfault Beyond the Launch

Building Automation Standards

Started by mattP 7 years ago4 replieslatest reply 7 years ago102 views

Hi,

I work as a Development Engineer with a company which develops controllers for building automation.

As a recent initiative to make our code more robust and bug free, I've been looking for industry code standards for embedded system applications. The best I've found till now is MISRA-C, although it is my understanding that this standard is intended to be used in safety-critical situations primarily.

Does anyone know of more such coding standards? And on a similar note, could you recommend a static analyzer? 

As a side note, we work primarily with Atmel microcontrollers using GNU99. 

Best Regards,

Matthew

[ - ]
Reply by JimFranklinOctober 2, 2017

I worked as a firmware engineer for a company who made temperature controllers for Cola machines - I ran the Misra2004 checker over the main code file and highlighted a LOT of bugs that should have been spotted if we had ever done a code review (or had any formal processes).  There was resistance to implement any standards, especially MISRA, by the other firmware guy, mainly because he was lazy and slap-happy in his coding.

I chaired a meeting with him, our dev manager, the test team and the group CEO (who was not a technical guy, but liked being invited occasionally to tech stuff).

I highlighted one very simple, but potentially dangerous function that was picked up by the MISRA checker. the function started like this:-

void checkTempOfPressureSensor(char temp){

if(temp >128) { 

// do safety stuff as we are over temp by a long way

}

obviously with temp being a char - the default of which is unsigned char - it would NEVER be >128 and the over temperature would be ignored and a primary safety dump valve would open and vent 3Kg of CO2 into a retail store - for those that don't know - that's a LOT of CO2.