EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
The 2024 Embedded Online Conference

Implementing octave algorithm in FPGA using c++

Started by Abhinav90 6 years ago11 replieslatest reply 6 years ago1352 views

I am currently working on writing a scrambler and DeScrambler code for Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing(OFDM). I am planning to write an algorithm for BPSK, QPSK and QAM scrambler-Descrambler before modulation and transmission. 

So far I have written an algorithm and test case  for BPSK and QPSK in Octave/Matlab and the code seems to work fine. Now I want to implement that in C++ so I can use Xilinx HLS to test my code on the FPGA for testing before I expand the algorithms.  The problem I am facing here is that I am quite new to C++ and feel more comfortable with Verilog and Sys Verilog but I have to write the codes in C++ for HLS to convert it into equivalent Hardware implementation:

Below is my Algorithm for the Scrambler in Octave, and if needed I can also provide the test case and code for DeScrambler.  Please check the queries after this code:

function [ScOutbits] = Scrambler(InputBits, BlockLen, ScramblerLUT)

ScOutbits = [];

switch (BlockLen)       % will be from test case usually either 1 or 2 depending on BPSK or QPSK

case 1 %For BPSK, 1 bit per cyscle 

state = [ 1 1 1 1 1 1 1]; % represents the 7 bit state shift register using LFSR 

for k = 1:size(InputBits,2),

xin = xor(state(4),state(7)); % polynomial used are x^7 and X^4 in this implementation

state = [xin state(1:end-1)];

ScOutbits(k) = xor(xin,InputBits(k));

endfor

case 2 % For QPSK, 2 bit per cycle 

state = [ 1 1 1 1 1 1 1];

for k = 1:1:size(InputBits,2)/BlockLen

bit0 = InputBits(1,(k-1)*2+1);

bit1 = InputBits(1,(k-1)*2+2);

InputDataNum = 0;

InputDataNum = bitset(InputDataNum,1,bit0);

InputDataNum = bitset(InputDataNum,2,bit1);

stateNum = 0;    

for I21 = 1:1:7

stateNum = bitset(stateNum,I21,state(1,7-I21+1));

endfor

LUTIdx = stateNum + bitshift(InputDataNum,7);