EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums

strcmp help please

Started by ridgerunnersjw 4 years ago19 replieslatest reply 4 years ago498 views

Good afternoon....

I am a hardware engineer who has been dabbling in firmware so my apologies if the code isn't tight.  I have code where I want to send out a command over UART, receive the echo back and then transmit 'ACK'.  My code continually seems to fail on the strcmp line in the rx ISR section.  For instance my pTx points to "ER_CMD#a01".  I can see on the logic analyzer this command.  I can also see on the logic analyzer rx line this command echoed back to me, however pRx does NOT seem to update to this value.  All problems seem to point to the strcmp.  If I remove and put a simple for loop in there pRx updates fine. Any comments would be greatly appreciated as I have been struggling with this???

d_sm.c

Thanks!

[ - ]
Reply by matthewbarrMay 9, 2020

As others have pointed out, strcmp() requires NUL terminated strings.

You also have the option of using strncmp() if you know your string length. A NUL termination is not required, strncmp() will test only the specified number of characters.

[ - ]
Reply by cprovidentiMay 9, 2020

Good suggestion, but beware of the "gotcha" concerning the length passed to strncmp: which length do you specify, the length of the string you expect to receive, or the length of the string you actually received (possibly after dropping a character or two)?

If you need to compare against a set of expected strings that have different lengths, then this "gotcha" could bite you, because you would (likely) want to specify the length of the string you actually received. Problem is you could get a match to a subset of the expected string, which may or may not be what you want.