EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
The 2024 Embedded Online Conference

Is char signed/unsigned and is >> on signed defined?

Started by MaxMaxfield 4 years ago34 replieslatest reply 4 years ago119 views

Hi chaps and chapesses -- sorry to bug you again -- this is a follow-on to my previous question: What size variables are best for 8-bit, 16-bit, and 32-bit MCUs? ( https://www.embeddedrelated.com/thread/11297/what-... ).

I'm a hardware design engineer by trade, so I'm fighting to learn the software side of things. I have a couple of questions.

-----------------

Question #1: This is in regard to the char type. I know it's supposed to be used to represent a character, but someone told me that the C standard doesn't define if it should be treated as signed or unsigned if you use it in math operations, so each compiler can treat it differently.

Is this indeed the case?

-----------------------------

Question #2: My first job was as a member of a design team for CPUs on mainframe computers, and my first task was to implement a barrel shifter/rotator. At that time I was taught that there were logical and arithmetic shift left and shift right operations.

Both logical and arithmetic shift left insert 0 into the least-significant bit (LSB), as does a logical shift right. It's only the arithmetic shift right that replicates the sign bit in the most-significant bit (MSB). Of course, we were working at the level of assembly and machine code -- I didn't know how the higher level language compilers implemented things.

Based on my earlier experience, and on what I've seen, using the the >> operator in C/C++ on an unsigned integer would shift 0s into the MSB(s), while using it on a signed integer would shift copies of the original sign bit into the MSB(s)

However, someone told me that the effect of using the >> on signed integers isn;t actually formally defined ion the C/C++ standard, so -- although most compilers would implement things as I suggest, some may not.