EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
The 2024 Embedded Online Conference

Energy managment

Started by Keturioz 4 years ago4 replieslatest reply 4 years ago87 views
Hello, I want to build an embedded system. The difficult part is, it only gains power at certain times. So I obviously need a battery pack, and i need to charge it whenever the systems gains power. The system has to be operational 24/7. But how can i do this? Most battery packs do not like to be charged randomly. I would be thankful for every idea.
[ - ]
Reply by MatthewEshlemanAugust 26, 2020

Gains power through what source? Solar? Electric? How often? How long must the system operate without a recharge? Worst case time periods? 

I'm not a battery expert, so defer to others. But when dealing with questions like this, I personally like to start with a simple spreadsheet modeling the power usage, battery capacity, usage/time periods, etc. The spreadsheet complexity will grow as my understanding of the problem/system increases, with the goal of helping me understand if the system can really meet the desired 24/7 operation, or at least what time periods will result in failure, etc.

And of course, make sure the hardware/EE team carefully selects low power versions of major components, such as the microcontroller, etc. 

Best regards,

Matthew

https://covemountainsoftware.com/services/consulting/

[ - ]
Reply by KeturiozAugust 26, 2020

The system is  supposed to protect trucks. If somebody open it a alarm will be send to the server. As long as it is driving it can use the power from the truck, but if it is turned off the goods still have to be protected. Also it is possible that the trailer will be left alone. So at maximum the system is for several days out of energy.

[ - ]
Reply by jmford94August 26, 2020

The important thing is the energy balance, so that the system can be designed to take in enough to charge the battery or other storage you have.