EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
The 2024 Embedded Online Conference

Embedded Linux guys, report in.

Started by Tahir Rana 1 year ago5 replieslatest reply 1 year ago225 views

I know the potential of Embedded Linux. I am a VHDL designer and have seen people using Petalinux with Xilinx FPGA.

I always had some questions regarding Embedded Linux. But first, let me tell you what I know about it.

Yocto was made into Petalinux by Xilinx. It runs on Zynq(I don't know whether on APU or RPU). I know yocto also works on Beagle board hardware.

Now my questions are:

1) How many other types of Embedded Linux are there? Like yocto, petalinux, etc?

2) Which platforms( chips ) they can run on? Chip name, company name, etc.

3) How many of them are free, which means no license for use is needed?

4) Do Embedded Linux works on RPU, APU, or Microcontrollers?

5) Can I run Embedded Linux on softcore processors like NiosII, Zynq, Microblaze, etc? I am asking this because many FPGAs don't have any block processors on them.

Just share whatever knowledge you have. I want to learn it because maybe it's time to switch my professional field.

[ - ]
Reply by KocsonyaApril 17, 2023

Linux is Linux, all those different names are more about the build system than the kernel and the user code. You want to run some application code on your gizmo. If you run embedded Linux, you get a huge amount of code already written for you, like file systems (if you have mass storage), USB, Ethernet, zillions of protocols (from networking to I2C) and libraries to do all sorts of things. Thus, your application development shrinks to developing your application specific code, everything else is there already.