EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums

Using Embedded Electronics for Hardware Control Surface Design

Started by ghostdzog 7 years ago15 replieslatest reply 7 years ago142 views

Hi, I am fairly new to embedded electronics.

My primary interest in Embedded Electronics is because I am interested in designing/making and perhaps even manufacturing tactile hardware control surfaces (made from electronic components and incorporating embedded MCU such as ARM M range) that can interface with standard PC / MAC computers and be used to provide tactile control over software run on the computer, as well as provide visual feedback to the users of the hardware/software (via LED / LCDs etc).

This is a project that i am keen to develop, however, I do not come from a programming or electronics background but a music engineer / music producing / art background, so although i have done some basic training in electronics and programming, I feel a little lost when approaching this project because there are no books on the market that have been specifically written for this purpose. i.e. hardware control surface design and how to interface with PC/MAC.

I was hoping that someone would be able to help me start my project by recommending the right way to start.

I figured that my first objective would be to buy a half decent developer board.

As I am not presently designing for manufacturing purpose (so I dont need to buy the cheapest), I have decided to buy one of the Nucleo 144 boards by ST electronics. The reason why i have chosen this board is because it has a fair amount of i/o pins as well as potential for connecting to arduino Uno etc.

I wanted a board with as many free pins as possible so that i will not run out of digital and analog ins/out for how many devices that i want to connect. 

I know, there are many ways of getting around the lack of pins, however, as this is my first project, I wanted to make my life easy by buying a board with enough pins on it to accommodate my requirements.