EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
Memfault Beyond the Launch

AMD 188 understanding with EEPROM

Started by Yachna 7 years ago10 replieslatest reply 7 years ago153 views

Hi,
I'm new to understanding processors.
I've worked on micro controllers of 8051 architecture and I'm fairly familiar with it.

I'm unclear as to how exactly the AMD 188 processor will work with an external EEPROM (that has the code) and RAM.
Does only the EEPROM have the code? Or do we need to program the processor as well to point to the starting address of EEPROM? Also, do we need to make a program in processor to read from the EEPROM as well? I never really understood how exactly the code will be written in the EEPROM and executed by processor. 

I'm looking for some clarity on the same.

[ - ]
Reply by M65C02AJune 18, 2017

Generally, the AMD 188 processors, the Am188ER and Am188ES, have two chip select outputs, nUMCS and nLMCS, which split the 1MB address space in half on reset and power up.

In my projects  with this processor, I used an external CPLD to split the upper memory chip select address range into additional memory device selects, with one of those derived chip selects typically connected to my Flash or other non-volatile memory.

On reset, the Am188 and other '188 processors begin fetching instructions from location 0xFFFF0, which is 16 bytes short of the end of the upper memory chip select. In those 16 bytes the processor should be redirected to some other location within the boot Flash or other non-volatile memory. If not, the processor program counter will roll over and continue execution at address 0x00000.

[ - ]
Reply by YachnaJune 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your reply.

I'm probably stuck at a much lower level. 

Do we have to burn any program/bootloader in AMD 188 for it to interface with a flash /EEPROM? 

When you say "processor program counter", does this actually refer to the memory location on the interfaced Flash/EEPROM?

[ - ]
Reply by Tim WescottJune 18, 2017