EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
The 2024 Embedded Online Conference

Question re Servos

Started by MaxMaxfield 2 years ago9 replieslatest reply 2 years ago182 views

I'm a bit confused -- I recently started playing with servos. In the book "Motors for Makers" https://www.amazon.com/dp/0134032837 it says that 1.5ms pulses always equate to the servo's midpoint. That some servos use 1.0ms and 2.0ms for hard left and hard right, respectively, but this can vary, with some ranging from 0.7ms to 2.3ms. This book also says that if you go too far you can damage the servo (strip the gears). So far, so good (although it wouldn't kill the servo manufacturers to protect against the user going too far).

In the case of the Tower Pro SG92R Micro Servo from Adafruit https://www.adafruit.com/product/169 they say that "Position '0' (1.5ms pulse) is middle, '90' (~2ms pulse) is all the way to the right, '-90' (~1ms pulse) is all the way to the left." They also say: "Note that the default servo pulse widths (usually 1ms to 2ms) may not give you a full 180 degrees of motion. In that case, check if you can set your servo controller to custom pulse lengths and try 0.75ms to 2.25ms. You can try shorter/longer pulses but be aware that if you go too far you could break your servo!" This is pretty close to what the "Motors for Makers" book says.

But when I go to the Arduino reference guide for the Servo attach() method in their servo library https://www.arduino.cc/reference/en/libraries/serv..., it shows two forms:

servo.attach(pin)
servo.attach(pin, min, max)

It also says "min" (optional): the pulse width, in microseconds, corresponding to the minimum (0 degree) angle on the servo (defaults to 544) and "max" (optional): the pulse width, in microseconds, corresponding to the maximum (180 degree) angle on the servo (defaults to 2400).