EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums
The 2024 Embedded Online Conference

Help stop the Arduino compiler outwitting me

Started by MaxMaxfield 9 months ago19 replieslatest reply 9 months ago192 views

It's me again (sorry). As a reminder, I'm a hardware design engineer, so my software knowledge is somewhat limited. I'm using the latest Arduino IDE 2 and I'm being outwitted by the Arduino compiler.

Here's the deal. I have one of the new Arduino Uno R4 boards (32-bit, 48MHz, lots of memory) and compared to the Uno R3 (8-bit, 16MHz clock, little memory).

I decided to compare the performance of integer and floating-point operations on both an R3 and an R4. Eventually I want to compare short ints (16 bits on both machines), regular ints (16-bit on the R3 and 32-bit on the R4), and long ints (32 bits on both platforms).

Of course I could look at the data sheet, but where's the fun in that?

I started with a program to test regular ints for the fundamental math operations (+, -, *, /, %).  A text version of the full program is here: http://www.clivemaxfield.com/area51/r3-vs-r4-test-...

The core of the program that runs the tests is as follows:

void RunTests ()
{
  int tstVal;

for (int iTstTyp = 0; iTstTyp < NUM_TESTS; iTstTyp++)
  {
    TestTimes[iTstTyp].startTime = micros();

for (long iTsts = 0; iTsts < NUM_ITTERATIONS; iTsts++)
    {
        tstVal = 0x7692;
        if      (iTstTyp == 0) {}
        else if (iTstTyp == 1) {}
        else if (iTstTyp == 2) {}
        else if (iTstTyp == 3) tstVal += 0x0042;
        else if (iTstTyp == 4) tstVal -= 0x0042;
        else if (iTstTyp == 5) tstVal *= 0x0042;
        else if (iTstTyp == 6) tstVal /= 0x0042;
        else if (iTstTyp == 7) tstVal %= 0x0042;
    }

TestTimes[iTstTyp].endTime = micros();
  }
}

When I run this program on my R3, the results are as follows:

=====================
Test =  0  Start 2000012  End 2000016  Elapsed = 4
Test =  1  Start 2000020  End 2000024  Elapsed = 4