EmbeddedRelated.com
Forums

Low level programming

Started by aniruddhpr4 5 years ago25 replieslatest reply 5 years ago2197 views

I am a newbie when it comes to embedded programming. I can program simple stuff if I am given the header files and all the startup code for ARM or AVR etc. But, I want to dive deeper and my goal is to write every piece of code for a given hardware.

I have researched a bit and understood how a program is executed from ground up. To write low level code, initialization code and as such, many of them suggested reading the datasheet but I am unable to grasp what exactly needs to be done from the datasheet.

For example, I chose atmega328p for this purpose and I tried reading through the datasheet for how to write the code for reset vector and all that low level programming but in vain, I don't know where to even start.

In theory it is simplified ( I referred O'Reilly's Programming Embedded systems in C and C++) and seems possible. But there is no proper source or theory guided with practical application anywhere.

Can anybody point me in the right direction? Where should I begin in a datasheet? What should I look for? If you can give me the complete road map it would be extremely helpful.

[ - ]
Reply by QLMarch 18, 2019

One resource you might want to try is the "Modern Embedded Systems Programming" video course on YouTube. This course uses the modern ARM Cortex-M microcontroller to teach low-level programming in the first 20 lessons or so, including everything you ask for (machine code, register access, function calls, startup code, interrupts, etc). The later lessons move on to explain the architecture of embedded systems.

[ - ]
Reply by Bob11March 18, 2019

In High School a long long time ago I wire-wrapped my own computer using a 6800 with front panel toggle switches and a couple of 7-segment displays, and toggled the assembly code in by hand. I actually got it all working. That's the REALLY REALLY low-level way to do it!